we’re friends, but basically sisters

IMG_3265

Friendship, it’s something everybody wants and something that some people don’t know how to keep. For me, friendship is one of the biggest things in my life. I have always been a very social person, and I love meeting new people and making new friends everywhere I go. Many people have different definitions of friendship, and for me I think it’s the privilege of having people in your life that you can share anything with, talk to about anything, and doing fun and adventurous things with. This week, I interviewed my sister and her best friend Paige. I asked them what they thought was beautiful and meaningful about friendship. I asked them to explain their friendship to me. They have known each other since they were 15, they are both currently 19 years old. They played softball together as little girls and reconnected in high school, where they became to be very close friends. Paige stated, “All I can say is that Chanti is my best friend for multiple reasons. The fact that I was lucky enough to find the one person in the entire school that was exactly like me, was incredibly unforgettable! We are nearly inseparable when we’re together, and nobody will ever understand how or why we are the way we are. I mean there are things that happen to us that even we don’t understand ourselves! We’re best friends, but basically sisters, we are essentially the same person. She will always call me out on my mistakes as I would do for her, but will always support me and give me honest advice without sugar coating it. We may butt heads on occasion, not always agree on the same things, but at the end of the day, that’s what a best friend is. All they are doing is helping form you into the person you’re meant to become. I wouldn’t want to have anyone else by my side to go through this crazy journey we call life! That sounds so cheesy, but oh well”.

My sister and Paige have had some rough times in their friendship, but at the end of the day when you’re so close to someone, someone who feels like a sister, there is bound to be some arguments. I then asked sister to explain what she felt about her friendship with Paige. She said, “we understand each other. We don’t judge each other. We support each other’s decisions.  There was a period of time right after high school that we didn’t talk to each other for a while. We then just picked up where we left of, as if we hadn’t missed a day”

Friendship is love. If you find the time, go tell your best friend how much you love and appreciate them!

With love,

Isabel

IMG_3233[IMG_3235IMG_3232

Leave a Reply

