familiar faces -polaroid edition

This week I decided to do something a little different with the photos. Instead of using a digital camera like usual, I used my polaroid camera, wide film. As most people know, it’s pretty easy to take photos with an iPhone camera. You can take multiple pictures of one thing and pick from those pictures to make sure you get the right one. Well, with a Polaroid camera it’s a bit harder! Unless you want to waste all of your film, one money shot is pretty hard to get. I experienced this trouble with a few of these photos. You need to wait for the right time, the right lighting, and the person you are taking a picture of MUST be ready for the extremely harsh flash that comes with it, and make sure not to blink. Along with all that, they need to be in position!!! I needed the right smile and the right body position, and even MY position mattered. All of this work to get the million dollar shot. So here are some familiar faces 🙂

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
1

This week I got a few visits from some people that I hadn’t seen in a while, like my brother! We all got together for my dads 42nd birthday and had dinner together.  I included some photos of my sister, her boyfriend Logan, and my brother Adan.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
2

I am very happy with my decision to use my polaroid camera for this week’s blog post. Not only did I get to experience all of the good, the bad, and everything in between, while having a limited supply of film, but I like having actual printed out photos instead of digital ones. It feels like more of a real life memory, if that makes sense. The reason I chose to take pictures of faces instead of any other thing, like say your typical sunset, or a plant, or any other object is because capturing ones face and their expression is can be interpreted in so many ways. You can see happiness from a smile and sadness from a frown. You can perceive them any way you really want and I really like that. This week I got to document the faces of familiar people that make me the happiest, and I hope you can do the same as well.

Processed with VSCO with b1 preset
3
Processed with VSCO with b1 preset
4
Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
5

with love,

isabel

Leave a Reply

